Posted by: spaghettipie | May 12, 2008

An Update on The Plan

About 10 days ago, I wrote about my revelations with eating on my other blog, Spaghettipie, and I outlined a plan that I would follow to nurture healthier habits. I’m happy to say that I’ve lost a couple pounds already. More importantly, I’ve had quality time with God every day since then and am back to memorizing Scripture. I feel renewed and refreshed. Better yet, I’m seeing a change in my decision-making process regarding food that does not leave me feeling guilty or dissatisfied.

I’m also reading a book by Chantal Hobbs called Never Say Diet. Now, I can’t say I recommend this book for everyone. I think some personalities may struggle with her approach more than others. But here are few of the points that have influenced my thinking.

  • Make healthy living and healthy choices a full-time job. It’s not optional, so it can’t be set aside for another time.
  • You have to start with your mind. Eliminate all of the excuses. Yes, all of them.
  • It’s okay to leave a meal still a little bit hungry. Our natural instinct is to fill ourselves. Choose a healthy portion, and then stop. Just because you feel hungry does not mean that you should eat. (But don’t not eat, either)

I love that the first few chapters in her book deal with the mindset aspect before any plans or discussion of eating habits. That’s exactly the realization I came to, so her thoughts resonated with me.

I’d love to hear any other thoughts on maintaining (or making the transition to) a healthier lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

Categories

