Posted by: spaghettipie | December 19, 2007

Menu Plan Monday (#12)

mpm1.jpg

Well, it’s Tuesday night, and I’m just now posting my menu plan. I actually did make it last night. I just didn’t have time to post it. Better late than never, right?

Monday – Chicken in the crockpot with carrots and celery.
After the chicken cooked all day, I pulled the chicken and made a box of Near East wild rice. I stirred them both back into the liquid and vegetables. Yum!

Tuesday – Really in the Pot Roast, served over baked potatoes
My husband raved about this tonight, so I think I’ll post the recipe in an effort to capture it as best I can so I can repeat it.

Wednesday – Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff, Caesar salad
We have some leftover Casesar salad that needs to be eaten, so if I don’t have it for lunch, we’ll have it with dinner. I didn’t mean to have beef two days in a row (and similar dishes, at that!) but I’m taking part of this over to a couple who recently had a baby. Lots of people bring chicken and casseroles, so I always like to take beef.

Thursday – Soup party at a friend’s

Friday – Salmon, Couscous, broccoli
Do you guys buy the Near East brand? I love that stuff. Great rice and couscous mixes.

Saturday – Spaghetti and meat sauce, homemade bread if I get to it.

Sunday – Chili and cornbread
This is a new favorite cornbread recipe in our house. It’s very simple, and produces a sweet, cakey cornbread.

Monday – Chicken and dumplings, salad or some vegetable
This has got to be my favorite recipe for chicken and dumplings. I’ll try to post it later this week as well. My parents will be in town, and I can make the parts of this recipe ahead of time. We can come home from church and easily pull it all together.

Tuesday – Traditional Christmas dinner this year: Turkey, mashed potatoes, peas, sweet potatoes and stuffing. Way to load up on the carbs, huh? I’m also going to try this recipe for Cranberry Upside-down Cake for breakfast Christmas morning.

Menu Planning Tip: Use the internet for inspiration! Check out the other menu plans over at Org Junkie – even in the archives. Or do a general search for menu planning. I rarely copy another person’s meal plan, but I either find a recipe I want to try or I remember a specific meal my family likes that I haven’t made in a while. I love Recipezaar.com because I’ve found great recipes, and I can search for recipes by ingredients I have on hand. You’re spending time on the internet anyway; use it to your advantage!

As always, get more inspiration at Org Junkie.

Leave a Reply

Categories

