Posted by: spaghettipie | December 6, 2007

Stewardship Spotlight #4

It all started because Llama Momma and I travel in the same blog circles, if you can call them that. I so enjoyed reading her comments on other blogs that I took a peek at her blog to see what she was all about. Her humorous style of writing, and her rich insights into parenting hooked me right away. I found myself reading her posts out loud to my husband or telling my girlfriends about her stories. After a time, we connected through email, and I’ve enjoyed getting to know her a little bit more. I would definitely give her a call if I’m ever in her neck of the woods so that we could meet in person, and even in my “real” life, I call her my friend. I’m pleased to introduce her to you, and I know you’ll find she’s full of wisdom.

Hey Llama Momma. Tell me a little bit about yourself.
I’m a stay-at-home Mom to three boys–almost six-year old twins and a one-year old.

So, where does the llama fit into the family?
Oh, *laughs* I bought a llama with a few girlfriends. He lives in Ecuador with a family who finds him useful in their day-to-day lives. I’m still his momma, though.

What does being a good steward of your children (or do we just say, a “good” parent?) mean to you and why is it important?
I think we all want to be good parents. For me, good stewardship in regard to parenting means I am aware that ultimately, my children belong to the Lord. This awareness is humbling and keeps me in constant prayer for my boys.

What do you think the keys to being a stewardship-minded parent are?
Good question. I keep asking an older woman I know whose grown children I admire, “How did you do this? What can I do to ensure my boys turn out as great as your kids?” She just shakes her head at me. There’s no formula. Pray. Trust God. Pray some more. And the hardest thing is, I don’t know if I’ve got this right or not — my boys are five, five, and one. I won’t know for many years if I’ve got this right.

For me, being a good steward means admitting I don’t have all the answers, and ultimately, I have no control. I need to pray for my boys, love them well, and trust God for their futures.

How do you think discipline and fun are related to the concept of stewardship parenting?
Discipline and fun. Both of these are so important. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and am struck by the staggering responsibility of raising these boys. It’s just so big. God has entrusted these three lives to my care. Me!

And we are responsible for teaching our children so many things. At it’s heart, this is discipline — teaching. And fun, well, you don’t need to hang around my house (or my blog) very long to see how much I value fun!

If someone wanted to become a more stewardship-minded parent, but didn’t know how to begin, what would you advise?
Begin to pray for your children.

I’ll be posting this on Thursdays, my recipe-posting day. Would you mind sharing a favorite recipe?
This is one of our favorite quick and easy suppers: Cuban Black Bean Patties. I usually double it to feed our family of five.

Thanks so much for visiting with us.

Please be sure to check out Llama Momma’s blog for inspirational parenting stories and lots of laughs! But be prepared to spend some time there; you’ll get hooked right away!

To read the other posts in this series, click here.

Responses

  1. Another great spotlight, T. I’m enjoying “meeting” some new bloggers!

    Great thoughts and encouragement on being a parent.


Leave a Reply

Categories

