Posted by: spaghettipie | November 26, 2007

Menu Plan Monday (#10)

mpm1.jpg

I was going to try a really inexpensive meal plan this week since we’re focusing on being a good steward of your money. But I just bought a few items (fresh salmon, pot roast) that are not necessarily cheap, so I think I would be a good steward not to let them go to waste. So here’s my plan for this week.

Monday: Lunch – probably something on the run since we’ll be in the middle of errands; Dinner – Baked salmon, sweet potatoes, salad

Tuesday: Lunch – Leftover brisket; Dinner – Pot roast in the crockpot with carrots and potatoes, peas as a side

Wednesday: Lunch – Leftovers; Dinner – Pasta and tomatoes

Thursday: Lunch – Mac and cheese; Dinner – Taco soup and cornbread

Friday: Lunch – Leftovers; Dinner – Homemade pizza and Salad

Saturday: Lunch – Sandwiches; Dinner – Pancakes and eggs

Sunday: Lunch – Not sure; Dinner – Every man for himself

Menu Planning Tip: Try some variations on your typical meals. For example, we have fish at least once a week, and usually it’s either salmon or tilapia. I try to find different ways to make fish so that it stays on our menu, but doesn’t get old. We have tried baked fish, grilled fish, fish tacos, fried fish, fish with a sauce, fish au gratin. Take a look at a great recipe site like http://www.recipezaar.com or http://www.allrecipes.com to find something new. Or take a look at other menu plans participating in Menu Plan Monday for inspiration.

Responses

  1. We’re doing homemade pizza too! πŸ™‚

  2. Great menu and I LOVE all your goals! Blessings on your week!

  3. Love your menus.

    And one thing I try to remember is that good stewardship doesn’t always mean cheap. For me, as I consider good stewardship in regard to the food I serve my family, I think of a variety of things: is this food nutritious? Are we eating a balanced diet throughout the week? Am I spending more for good quality, organic or local produce? Is my meat fresh and free of hormones? These are just a few of my concerns.

    Sometimes good stewardship means spending more.

  4. I am with Llama Momma on the questions to ask yourself about whether a meal is good stewardship or not – especially on the “spending more for good quality, organic or local produce” part. I am willing to pay extra for a smaller portion of antibiotic-free beef (or better yet, buffalo, which is antibiotic-free and leaner than beef) compared to a larger portion of something that is only 90% or less lean, and raised on a feed lot – no matter how “cheap” it is. Salmon – especially wild caught Pacific – is an excellent food – definitely falls under the good stewardship. You did fine! πŸ™‚

  5. I have to say that since I developed my 30-Day Meal Plan I’ve saved more time and money than I ever expected. It was worth the effort. Good to see you thinking in this direction!

  6. I prefer to spend more when it comes to organic and fresh products, that I know that my family and I will truly enjoy.
    Keep up the great job.

  7. N – Now that we’ve started eating homemade pizza, it’s hard to have any other kind!

    S – Thanks for stopping by!

    LM, Mel and R – Excellent points. When we joined the organic food co-op, that’s one thing my husband and I discussed. The premium we pay for organic food is worth it to us, and we’re willing to sacrifice in other areas to have fresh, un-processed foods.

    LL – I have yet to work up to a 30-day plan! Doing a week in advance has been great for us.

  8. Homemade pizza’s are so yummy.
    I’ve wondered about fish tacos, did you enjoy them?


Leave a Reply

Categories

