Posted by: spaghettipie | November 20, 2007

Stewardship Living Idea #5: Words

Sorry, I’m a day late with this post!

The theme this week is words. Words are so easy to overlook and take for granted. The Bible contains many passages about how we are to use our words (from encouragement to correction to teaching) and how not to use our words (from slander to lying to denying God). As I reflected on this topic a few weeks ago on my other blog, I realized I still have much to learn in this area. The bottom line is I have a choice in how I use (or don’t use) my words.

So my stewardship living idea this week is simple: choose your words.

I don’t mean to be trite, but the age old adage “think before you speak” is worth considering. It may only require a moment (sometimes longer, indeed!), but it will be a moment well spent. Try to get into the habit of pausing before you speak to consider whether what you are draws the hearer closer to God. If it ultimately doesn’t do that in some way, is it really worth saying?

This week is a great time to work on being a good steward of our words. With Thanksgiving only a few days away, consider some ways to use your words to bless others and exhibit your attitude of thanks for all God has entrusted to you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

