Posted by: spaghettipie | November 19, 2007

Menu Plan Monday (#9)

mpm1.jpg

Okay, this week’s menu is a little off (like most people) since it’s Thanksgiving. This will be the first Thanksgiving in years that I’m not cooking, so I have no clue what we’ll be having other than turkey and sweet potatoes. Anyway, here goes.

Monday – Lunch: Salad with chicken, Dinner: Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff
Seriously, I’m going to make that meal tomorrow night. I’m pretty sure this is the third week I’ve had it on my menu. I keep forgetting to thaw the meat, but it’s in my fridge already this time!

Tuesday – Lunch: Sandwiches, Dinner: Pancakes and eggs
Keeping it pretty simple since we’ll be running around getting ready to leave for a couple days.

Wednesday – Lunch: Leftovers, Dinner: Unknown
Eat what’s in the fridge so it doesn’t go bad. Dinner will be at my parents’ house and out of my control.

Thursday – Thanksgiving Dinner #1: Turkey
Dinner with my parents. I’m bringing the pumpkin pie and the homemade cranberry sauce.

Friday – Lunch: Leftovers, Dinner: Probably take-out
Leftover Thanksgiving dinner. Since we’re getting home that night, I probably won’t feel like cooking.

Saturday – Thanksgiving Dinner #2: Brisket
Sunday – Thanksgiving Dinner #3
Over the course of the weekend we’ll celebrate Thanksgiving again with my husband’s family. My mother-in-law wants my husband to smoke a brisket, so that’s what we’ll have with her instead of traditional turkey.

Menu Planning Tip: When planning your menu, find ways to reuse leftovers or leverage your cooking times. For example, you might plan to eat salmon and veggies one night. The next day for lunch use the leftover salmon in salmon cakes. Or when browning ground beef for tacos one night, go ahead and brown enough ground beef for your spaghetti sauce two nights from now. This little ways to reuse or cook in larger batches saves time and effort. Psychologically creating a home-cooked meal seems a little easier when some of the ingredients are prepped and ready to go.

For more meal planning inspiration, check out Org Junkie.

Responses

  1. what a delicious an dwell thought out meal plan!! Have a joyous Thanksgiving!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

