Posted by: spaghettipie | November 8, 2007

Zucchini Pie – Recipe

Here’s one of my favorite recipes I grew up eating. Even though it’s probably more of a summer recipe I’m posting it anyway. If it can be nearly 80 degrees F in November, I figure I can post a summer squash recipe in winter! The good news about this recipe is I have known many men who do not eat quiche and people who do not eat zucchini who LIKE this recipe. If you give it a try, come back and let me know what you think. Once you’ve made it, you will see many variations you can try.

Ingredients:
4 C squash (sometimes I even mix yellow and zucchini), thinly sliced
1/2 C onion, chopped
1/4 C butter
1/2 C fresh parsley or 2 Tbsp dried parsley
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried oregano
2 eggs, lightly beaten
8 oz white cheese, shredded
1 can crescent rolls (or try my recipe for crescent rolls)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Cook and stir squash and onion in butter until tender. Stir in seasoning. In a separate bowl, combine egg and cheese. Add to squash and stir just until mixed. Unroll the crescent rolls and line the bottom of a 9X13-inch pan (use a slightly smaller pan for a thicker crust or if you want more crust on the sides) by gently patting them together at the perforated seams. Be sure you’ve left no holes or the squash mixture will leak underneath. Pour in the squash mixture and spread it evenly. Bake 18-20 minutes or until set and slightly browned.

My mom spreads a small coating of dijon mustard on the crescent rolls before adding the squash mixture. I like the taste of it, but my husband despises mustard and swears he can taste it.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. this looks wonderful! i am going to put it on my menu next week!!
    thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

