Posted by: spaghettipie | November 1, 2007

Green Tapenade – Recipe

I recently tried a new recipe for tapenade. Well, I sort of tried it. I can never leave well enough alone, and as usual I only used the recipe as a guideline. Fortunately, it received rave reviews at both a Southern Living Party I hosted and our small group.

Ingredients:
3 C green olives, preferably without stuff in them (the measurement is a guess, I used a tall jar of Zataran’s salad olives and some big olives from the olive bar at our local grocery store)*
1 4-oz can green chilis, mostly drained
3-4 cloves garlic (or however many depending on preference)
2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp capers, drained
2 tsp lime juice
2 tsp rum, very full (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil
*okay, this recipe is as good as the olives you use, so don’t skimp too much. Cheap olives work in a pinch, but be sure to let all of the ingredients sit together for a while. I probably won’t use those salad olives again.

Directions:
Combine in a food processor all ingredients except olive oil. Process until olives are finely chopped. Scrape down sides as necessary and again at the end. With the processor on, slowly add olive until you’ve made a coarse paste (about 4-6 Tbsp, sometimes less – make it a consistency you like!). Chill in the fridge until serving time. It tastes better if you let it sit for at least an hour. Best served with crusty bread sliced thinly, pita chips, or bagel chips. Can also use crackers, chips, or I suppose, vegetables. For a spicier version, try a hotter type of pepper.

Responses

  1. I love tapenade. Usually make it with kalamata olives. Maybe I’ll try yours for Thanksgiving!

  2. LL – That’s what the original recipe called for, but what I had was green olives. Ended up being a tasty variation. You do need to like green olives, though. Let me know what you think!


Leave a Reply

Categories

