Posted by: spaghettipie | October 30, 2007

Stewardship Living Idea #2: Rest

Sounds sort of hypocritical coming from someone posting at 12:30am, huh? I never said I was good at all of these ideas, but I’m certainly striving to be better. Over the past year or so, the concept of keeping a Sabbath has come back to me several times. I purchased Mark Buchanan’s The Rest of God, but haven’t quite finished it yet. Regardless, I think rest is an important element of stewardship for several reasons.

1) Your body requires it. If you’re like me, you’d like to think that your body just doesn’t require much sleep. While your body may not require as much sleep as your best friend, it still demands enough sleep. And quite frankly, it’s probably more than what you’re getting. Sleep is used to restore your body, not to mention your mind. Taking care of your body is being a good steward. It needs sleep. Get some.

2) When you are well-rested, you are more pleasant to be around. When you lack sleep, you become grumpier, more irritable, and not a joy to be around. As a good steward of relationships, getting enough sleep makes it a little easier to build good relationships, spend quality time (without nodding off) with people, and truly engage others.

3) Safety. If you’re over-tired and sleep deprived, you are more likely to be involved in accidents. Fewer accidents mean less money, less time lost, and better health.

4) Aside from the sleeping form of rest, your mind and your emotions need time off, too. If you never rest, you allow yourself time to sort through stress, difficult emotions like grief or anger, and the basics of daily life. Let yourself unwind. Do something you enjoy because you want to, not because you have to do it.

5) If you are a parent or an adult in your home, you help set the tone and pace of your home. If you never take time to rest, the others around you will be forced into your relentless pace as well. Your children will learn how to rest (or not) by watching you.

So consider how to intentionally implement rest into your life. It will be time well spent.

Responses

  1. Such a great post. The concept of rest was a difficult one for me to enjoy. But not any longer!

    I used to equate rest with being weak or lazy. Which is ridiculous, but the world doesn’t value rest.

    And I agree with #5 whole heartedly. Many years ago I made a choice to make peace in the home a priority, and of course, change always begins within the heart…I firmly believe that you cannot give your child what you do not have. So rest is something I have to intentionally plan for and guard! I try to always make decisions about activities by this question: Does this build up our family?

    Rest does build us up, in all areas, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

  2. K – Rest is so hard for me (look at me online again past midnight!) but I’m working on it. Thanks for your great comment.

  3. I like that you shared this as an aspect of stewardship. Good reminder!

  4. C – Glad you stopped by. Now that I’ve been thinking about holistic stewardship, it’s amazing the number of things that actually fall into the category of stewardship!


Leave a Reply

Categories

