Posted by: spaghettipie | October 18, 2007

Sweet Potato Casserole – Recipe

I’m already starting to think about Thanksgiving and Christmas, so in the spirit of fall, I thought I would post my favorite Thanksgiving side dish. I still ask my mom to make it every year, and she’s required to make extra so we have plenty leftover. (And yes, I’ve eaten it for breakfast!)

No marshmallows here. This is a great streusel-type topping. And no, it is definitely not low-fat.

Ingredients:
(Casserole)
1/2 C butter
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C light corn syrup
1Tbsp vanilla
2 eggs
4 large sweet potatoes

(Topping)
1/3 C butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 C flour
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 C crushed pecans (optional, but better with!)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F). Pare potatoes and boil until fork tender. Mash in mixer. Add all ingredients for casserole. Beat together until mixed well. Put in greased dish. Using a food processor or pastry blender, cut together ingredients for the topping. Sprinkle on top of potato mixture. Bake for 25 minutes.

Responses

  1. I got addicted to this several years ago and gave my mom the same requirement, plus an additional assignment: make this for Christmas dinner, too!

  2. That sounds so good, I wish my husband liked sweet potatoes as much as I do.

  3. A – Oooh, that sounds like a good idea!
    M – It’s really good. It’s almost like a dessert; does he like dessert? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

