Posted by: spaghettipie | October 16, 2007

WFMW: Crockpotting – Recipes

Okay, so I know the title today is pretty cheesy. πŸ™‚

wfmwheader.jpg

Since fall is here and comfort foods are finally making an appearance on my menu, it’s time to get out that crockpot. Not to mention, MEH asked me to post some crockpot recipes. But first, here’s why I like using my crockpot:

1) ONE pot to clean up.

2) Cleaning the one pot is typically pretty easy.

3) Dinner is ready whenever my husband gets home.

4) It’s super easy. Just dump in all of the ingredients and hit “on.”

5) Mmmmm, comfort food.

6) Now that my daughter is interested in “helping” me cook, she can easily participate in making crockpot meals.

And without further ado, here are a couple of my favorite crockpot recipes (Chicken Delicious and Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff). In the comments, be sure to share yours! Don’t forget to check out additional tips over at Rocks in My Dryer. Crockpotting: it works for me!

Chicken Delicious

Ingredients:
4-6 whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can cream of celery soup
1/3 C dry white wine (don’t use red – it turns out purple)
lemon juice
salt and pepper
celery salt
paprika
grated Parmesan cheese
rice or noodles

Directions:
Rinse chicken and pat dry. Put into crock pot. In medium bowl, mix remaining ingredients except cheese and rice or pasta. Pour over chicken. Sprinkle with cheese. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or high for 4-5 hours. Serve over rice or pasta. Sometimes I’ll add frozen peas or green beans about 20 minutes before serving.

Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff

Ingredients:
2 lb steak (Actually, I usually get stew meat)
1/4 C flour
1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper
1 clove garlic, finely chopped or pressed
2 beef boullion cubes
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 C water
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 small onion, chopped
3 Tbsp butter
8 oz cream cheese
pasta or rice (I like to use egg noodles if I’m using pasta)

Directions:

Cut steak into 1/2″ cubes. Mix flour, salt, pepper and garlic in a large zip lock bag or bowl. Roll steak in flour mixture and put into crockpot. Add remaining ingredients, except cream cheese. Give it a good stir to mix the soup and water a little. Cook on low for at least 5 hours. During the last 30 minutes, add the cream cheese (I find it helps to melt it slightly. Sometime it doesn’t mix in right). Serve over hot noodles or rice.

Responses

  1. I’m not sure that your link from WFMW is quite right. It brought me to your site, but I had to click ‘home’ to find your post.
    I love our crockpot, we haven’t had it long so are on the lookout for new recipes to try – these look good πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for the suggestions-I adore my crock-pot and am always looking for new recipes.

  3. I’m always looking for more crockpot recipes. I make somehing similar to your chicken dish. It’s also really good on baked potatoes!

  4. Make it even easier with those crock pot liners….no pot to clean up at all.

  5. I use my crock pot at least once a week. SOOO easy. When I went back to work, my first splurge was a new, larger crock pot. (Yeah, I know, I live on the edge). Thanks for two new recipes!

  6. This is my favorite chili recipe:

    http://notthequeen.blogspot.com/2007/09/my-infamous-chili-recipe.html

    I’m also making a taco soup tonight. It’s from the same cookbook as the chili.

    Ingredients:
    4 chicken breast halves, cooked, deboned, and shredded
    1 garlic clove, minced
    2 Tbsp margarine
    2 14 1/2-oz. cans chicken broth
    2 14 1/2-oz cans chopped stewed tomatoes
    1 cup salsa
    1/2 cup chopped cilantro
    1 Tbsp (or more) ground cumin
    8-oz Monterey Jack cheese, cubed
    sour cream
    tortilla chips

    Directions:
    1. Add minced garlic and margarine in slow cooker. Saute.
    2. Combine all ingredients except cheese, sour cream, and chips.
    3. Cover. Cook on Low 8-10 hours.
    4. Divide cubed cheese among 6 individual soup bowls. Ladle soup over cheese. Sprinkle with chips and top each bowl with a dollop of sour cream.

    So yummy!

    Thanks for the recipes! I’ll give them a try!

  7. Thanks for the reminder to get the crock pot out. I’m going to try both recipes. A great recipe book is Better Homes & Gardens’ 5 ingredient slow cooker recipes. Lots of fun one, and not just main courses.

  8. D – Thanks for the heads up about the link. I changed it.
    A – Hope you enjoy the recipes!
    M – Ooh, I never thought of putting it on baked potatoes. That opens up all sorts of possibilities for crockpot recipes!
    S – You know I’ve never tried those things. Something about them weirds me out. I really don’t mind washing my crockpot. πŸ™‚
    F – Do you have one of the double inserts? Mine came with two “pots” – one normal and one with a divider. That has turned out to be very convenient!
    NTQ – Thanks for sharing the recipe. It sounds great!
    J – Let me know how they turn out!

  9. Spaghettipie,

    Great post. I have been wanting to use my crockpot more–such a brilliant idea that I’m not sure why I don’t use it more often. I definitely want to try the first recipe!

  10. C – Glad you came by. Let me know how it goes!

  11. I made your stroganoff for my family tonight and it was a huge hit! Thank you for posting the recipe.

  12. MBM – I’m so glad it was a hit! I made the Chicken Delish tonight, and it definitely lived up to its name.

  13. […] – Lunch: Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff, Dinner: Every man for […]

  14. […] – Lunch: Picnic at the zoo, Dinner: Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff, pumpkin I didn’t get to this one last week either. I’m anxious to try the stew meat we […]

  15. […] – Steph’s Crockpot Stroganoff, Caesar salad We have some leftover Casesar salad that needs to be eaten, so if I don’t have […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

