Posted by: spaghettipie | October 10, 2007

WFMW: Picking stuff up. . .

wfmwheader.jpgWhen it comes to picking up stuff around the house, I can work faster if I stay focused. So I pick up one room at a time. Anything that does not belong in that room, is put – or more accurately, tossed, plunked down, dropped off, or piled up – into the next room I’m going to pick up. I just leave it and go back to the room in which I’m currently working. Typically, I do not go put it into the room it belongs, unless that room is on the way to my next working room. Or, if I’ve already finished picking up the room it belongs in, then I’ll go put it away.

I know, I know. You organization folks are balking at the fact that I handle items more than once. But for me, it goes faster because I’m not getting distracted by things to do in another room. The only reason I leave the room I’m working in is to drop something off. (And sometimes, if I’m within tossing range, I don’t even leave the room I’m in.) In the past, when I’ve put things away as I found them, I’d realize I need to dust a piece of furniture, organize a drawer, or clean out the clothes in my closet. Before I knew it, I’d be knee-deep in some other project with a new explosion of stuff and the house still not picked up. This way, I systematically get every room clean.

I’ve heard some people say they bring a box or a basket in the room with them, and they load it up with everything that does not belong in that room. Then they carry the box or basket to the next room, unload whatever is in there that needs to go in the new room, and reload it with new misplaced stuff.

Anyway, this tip definitely might not work for some . . . but it works for me! Check out more tips at Rocks in My Dryer.

Responses

  1. This tip really spoke to me. I tend to do that if I don’t focus on just one room. I’ll find something in another room that I think, if I don’t do it now, I’m not going to remember to do it later. I also left a tip on picking up stuff in the evening as a family. Ta for now dahling!

  2. I do the basket thing–if I just dump it in the next room, the kiddos bring it right back out!

  3. My mom tried to teach me to work around one room from one side to the other and then move to the next room. Unfortunately, it never really sunk in. I am trying to get into that habit now. Thanks for the idea of moving the things to the next room. I get distracted easily and this would help. Thanks for sharing!

  4. PJC – Thanks for stopping by. Glad the tip helped. I’ll be sure to check out yours.

    SS – I do like the basket idea and might start trying it. The problem with dumping stuff is that if for some reason I don’t get to finish, then I’ve made the next room look even worse!

    T – Glad you came by and let me know how it goes for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

