Posted by: spaghettipie | October 10, 2007

Homemade Tortillas – Recipe

Okay, here’s the recipe I use to make tortillas. I haven’t experimented with it much yet, but I’m thinking it would be pretty easy.

Ingredients:

2 C unbleached all-purpose flour (I have used 1 C bread flour and 1 C whole kernel wheat flour, and it turned out great)
1 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
3 Tbsp butter, softened (original recipe calls for shortening)
2/3 C warm water

I have added about 1 Tbsp of paprika and a dash of cayenne to make southwestern tortillas. I’ve also tried adding about 1 Tbsp of garlic powder to make garlic flavored tortillas. Next time I’m going to try adding a little honey to sweeten them some.

Directions:

Mix flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl. Rub in the butter until all the pieces are smaller than a pea. Stir in the water and knead lightly until a soft dough forms. Cover with saran wrap and let it rest for 15 minutes.

Divide into 12 pieces and roll into balls. If the dough is sticky, lightly dust your hands with flour only until it becomes manageable. Using a rolling pin, on a floured surface roll each ball out into about 6-inch rounds. I am able to stack them, slightly staggered into a couple piles.

Heat a heavy frying pan or skillet to medium-high. Add one tortilla at a time and cook for 1-2 minutes, turning over as soon as the surface starts to bubble. The tortilla should stay flexible, but brown in some places. Remove from pan and wrap in a warm tea towel to keep warm while you cook the rest of the tortillas.

Okay, go try it and let me know how they turn out! Next time I make them, I’ll try to remember to take some photos and update this recipe later.

Responses

  1. Okay, YUM. These look so good and so simple! I am trying these next week.

  2. I make homemade tortillas in the winter when the weather is so bad I can’t get to the store to buy them. (: And I never can get them nice and round! I love the idea of adding cayenne and paprika…gonna’ try it next time it is stormy.

  3. LM – Let me know how they turn out!
    MEH – A rolling pin helps me get them pretty round. What’s your recipe?

  4. This recipe is highly appreciated because I have been wanting to make homemade tortillas and I currently do not have an oven! So thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

