Posted by: spaghettipie | October 3, 2007

WFMW: Going Green

This week, Works for Me Wednesday is reverse! We’re supposed to ask for tips on a topic, rather than giving them. Since my blog is about being a good steward, and my family is always looking for new ideas about doing that, I thought I would post the following question

What tips do you have for making small changes to be better stewards of our environment?

Thanks for stopping by to offer your thoughts, and be sure to check out Rocks in My Dryer – a ton of questions have been posted!

Responses

  1. We walk to school every day, and recently have started carrying a small bag with us to pick up trash as we go. It’s a little thing, but I hated just walking by random litter and doing nothing!!

  2. I’ve blogged about several ideas that we’ve been working on: http://watibg.blogspot.com/search/label/going%20green

  3. Start using vinegar and baking soda to clean and disinfect your house. I have found a lot of suggestions on past WFMW on using these for cleaning and started using them 2 weeks ago. My toilets are sparkling. My countertops clean. Vinegar really does work just as well as whatever is in those Clorox wipes but no nasty chemicals. At first I was worried about my house smelling of vinegar but the smell goes away after 5 mintues. And for the spray bottle in my kitchen I added one drop of some orange smelling essential oil and Mmmm! Delightful!

  4. I have several articles along this line on my Choosing Voluntary Simplicity website… like Downshifting to a Simpler Life and What Is Voluntary Simplicity?

    My WFMW question is “Produce, E. Coli, Bacteria, and You.” I’d love some input!

  5. you can search my blog too for the things we’ve done to go green – cloth grocery bags, cloth toilet wipes, chemical free cleaners and detergents, buying local foods, preserving foods, etc…..

  6. What a great inquiry! I’ve been trying to go green more the last few months myself. I’ve started using cloth napkins instead of paper, using environmentally friendly cleaning products (I use Method, but there are a lot of other brands out there as well), bringing a water bottle and coffee mug to work to reuse instead of always using paper and bringing my own canvas bags to the grocery store to use instead of always getting plastic ones. Good luck on going green!!

  7. There are so many great ways! Try reusable products instead of dispossable ones. Like cloth napkins instead of paper ones. If you can grow more food instead of buying it at the store, and what you do buy try to get locally grown.

    There’s a book contest going on over here (http://activistmommy.com/its-easy-being-green/) where people are submitting their own green living tips in the comments. You’ll find a ton of great ideas.

  8. We’ve been considering this alot lately. I guess the obvious is to recycle. We are also trying to take our own reusable bags to the grocery store. Over next year or so we are planning to incorporate eco-friendly housecleaning products into our home. We also have recently started frequenting the farmer’s markets – supports the local industry and the things you buy don’t come with all the packaging waste. 🙂

  9. The first thing we did was light bulbs, seems silly I know but in my house light switches are flying. Don’t look around your house and fret because you have 76 light bulbs, they say to start with 3 that you use the most (I started with two). HEB has four energy efficient bulbs for $9.99. Sometimes I didn’t have that much leeway in the budget so I would just buy one or two. Slowly my house is emerging into all energy efficient bulbs.

    Recycle. We are fortunate enough to live where recyling comes to my door, but it wasn’t always that way. If you don’t have recyling convinent located in your garage, find a local recyling center and make it a family trip either once a week, month, etc. You don’t have to buy fancy containers, use a diaper box instead, or pay a visit to the dollar tree.

    I live on a budget, and we are strict with it as well, but I do try to buy organic on things I feel are necessary (milk, chicken, beef, cheese) but forego it on fruit (though I wish I could), less pesticides that my family is consuming as well as the animals we are eating. I grew up eating oreos so I figure organic chocolate sandwich cookies aren’t going to make that big of a difference. I used to purchase Melaluca (green products) but when the budget came into play I had to let them go. I now use Method (found at Target) as well as Seventh Generation (Whole Foods, or HEB) honestly I am just as happy with them as I was melaluca. Seventh Generation emails you coupons if you sign up for their emails, and after the coupons things like dish detergent are the same price as Cascade or generic.

    Again start small, don’t throw out all your Shower cleaner (because that would be a waste right?) ;), as you run out replace it.

    We also got rid of our Chevrolet Tahoe, it made me sad, but the gas mileage was HORRIBLE, and now I drive a snazzy minivan, that gets 23 mgs.

    Other resources I am a fan of:
    http://www.nrdc.org/
    http://www.greenlivingtips.com/

  10. Ditch the single-serving drink container habit. If you drink bottled water, refill the bottles. If you drink soda, buy the 2 liter bottle. Ice tea, lemonade? Mix up a big batch, then fill reusable containers.

    We like the little powdered mixes that are designed to go into a half-liter water bottle. Then we reuse the bottle about 20 times!

  11. This is something that I’ve been working on for a year or so – I have lots of posts about this on my blog!

    I’d recommend recycling, reducing the amount of stuff you use in the first place, try to shop green (organic, local, fair trade), use CFLs, and read some green blogs – my favorite is Treehugger. It has AMAZING resources, and the latest on green living!

  12. Wow! Thanks for all of the tips. I’ll definitely check all of your blogs out and get more ideas.

    We have definitely ditched paper towels for cloth napkins and wipes. By doing that, we only used ONE roll of paper towels during an entire month.

    Can’t wait to try some of your other ideas.

  13. Mostly, I think it comes of adjusting our inner attitudes about life and Creation. The more I see this life as a gift, and Creation as a gift, the more I make a whole host of changes along the way. Not from compulsion or guilt, but from a sense of celebration and pleasure.

  14. LL – I wholeheartedly agree. Being a good steward is what instigated this whole mindshift for me to begin!

  15. […] I found Carrie’s blog because she responded to my Works for Me Wednesday post on going green. She has a ton of great, simple ideas to get started. Then I read more about her passion for […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

