Posted by: spaghettipie | September 24, 2007

Menu Plan Monday (#1)

Well, it’s Menu Plan Monday over at Organization Junkie, and since I was planning to post my menu plans anyway, I thought I would participate in the fun. You can read about how I plan my menus (admittedly not anything new!) here.

Monday: Fish and chips (aka potato wedges) with salad
I plan to lightly bread the fish with flour and seasonings. I dump the flour mixture into a gallon sized ziplock bag, add the fish, and shake until well coated. I bake it in the oven on a wire rack on top of cookie sheet (helps keep it from getting soggy) at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. My favorite brand of frozen potatoes is Alexia; they have tons of fun varieties, including sweet potato fries.

Tuesday: Over to a friend’s house for dinner. I don’t have to bring anything!
I might go ahead and cook the chicken I need for Wednesday and Thursday.

Wednesday: Bowtie pasta, chicken and diced tomatoes, sprinkled with freshly grated parmesan
This is a favorite on busy nights. We just toss the pasta, chicken and tomatoes together, along with a little olive oil. If you cook your chicken in advance for the week, it’s even easier!

Thursday: Risotto with chicken and mushrooms, butter cup squash
Mmmm, risotto is a favorite in our house. Now that the weather is getting cooler, these comfort foods will make their way onto our menu plan more often. I saute the mushrooms separately (and chicken if I haven’t cooked it) and then stir them in at the end.

Friday: Steak, grilled yams, broccoli
My husband is itching to use his grill, so we’ll throw everything on except the broccoli!

Saturday: Lasagna, bread sticks and salad
I’ve been wanting to make some pasta, and with company coming, Saturday is the perfect time. I’ll probably make the noodles and sauce the night before and assemble everything together Saturday afternoon. I plan to use my pizza crust recipe to make the bread sticks. Later this week I’ll try to remember to post the recipe for my pasta sauce.

Sunday: Leftovers

Responses

  1. I’m starting to break out the comfort food again too, which for us means SOUP. Mmmmm.

    peace of Christ to you,
    Jessica Snell

  2. what a busy week planned bu t a yummy one!! Have a wonderful week.

  3. Yummm…. your menu sounds like it came from a restaurant! Have a great week!

  4. Looks great!! Blessings on your week!

  5. Thanks so much to all of you for stopping by! I look forward to perusing all of your blogs.

    JS – I was just telling my husband this weekend that I can’t wait to start making soup. . .

    AMTG – Thanks, and you too! I find that planning in advance doesn’t make it seem busy at all!

    N – Hmm, not quite a restaurant here, but I must say the fish and chips were tasty tonight.

    S – Thanks, and blessings on your week as well.

  6. Your menu looks really great. Thanks for joining us!!

    Laura

  7. L – Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to continuing to participate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

