Posted by: spaghettipie | September 20, 2007

Homemade Pizza Dough – Recipe

Once you’ve had homemade pizza dough, it sure is hard to go back to frozen or take-out pizza! Here’s a simple recipe that I’ve been using lately. This is made using my bread machine, although it works great by hand as well. This makes two 12-inch sized pizza crusts.

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 C water
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1-2 T honey
  • 4 C bread flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast

Directions:

Place water, oil and honey into pan first. Cover with flour. Place salt in one corner. Make a small indentation in the middle of the pan (not to the liquid) and add yeast. Set to pizza dough setting, if you have it. Otherwise, set it to knead for 25 minutes and rise for 30 minutes. Once it has finished rising, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and punch it down. Shape it into a ball and let it rest for 5 minutes. Roll it out to the desired thickness (or I like to gently stretch it with my hands, using the weight of the dough itself to help pull). Top it with your favorite toppings and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes at 425 degrees.

You can refrigerate the dough after you remove it from the bread machine for 2-3 days. You can freeze it for several months. If you keep it as a ball, thaw it in the refrigerator overnight. Set refrigerated dough out on the counter about 2 hours before you’re going to use it. You can also roll out the dough and freeze it as a prepared pizza crust. In this case, I would top it while still frozen and put it straight into the oven.

*updated* To make by hand:

Cream the yeast with 4 Tbsp of water, then stir in the remaining water. Stir in the oil. Sift the flour and salt together into a large bowl and make a well in the center. Pour the yeast mixture into well and mix to a soft dough.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic (8-10 minutes). Place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with oiled plastic wrap and leave to rise until doubled (1 to 1 1/2 hours). Punch down the dough onto a lightly floured surface. Shape it into a ball and let it rest for 5 minutes. Roll it out to the desired thickness (or I like to gently stretch it with my hands, using the weight of the dough itself to help pull). Top it with your favorite toppings and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes at 425 degrees.

I’ve had many people ask me recently how I make my pizza sauce.

Quick and Easy Pizza Sauce:

Mix one can of tomato sauce with one can of tomato paste. Add about two teaspoons of garlic powder (or fresh garlic) and 3 tablespoons of Italian seasonings (or your favorite herbs). Good for 2-3 pizzas.

Responses

  1. This is my recipe, too!! We love it. I have little pizza pans that we use to make individual pizzas. The kids love “making their own,” and when we have friends over, their moms are always amazed that their kids put veggies on. And eat them! But there’s something about making your own that makes you want to try it!!

    Great new blog!

  2. I too am a homemade pizza maker. What’s funny is that on the rare occasion we do eat pizza “out”, even the kids can taste the difference. And really other than the extra time it takes, I think pizza’s are super easy.

    I do have one obsession about homemade pizza though….I am in search of a crust that doesn’t get soggy underneath the toppings.

    I like a crunchy crust. But the bottom of my pizza always ends up soft. I have tried corn meal, a pizza stone, a pizza pan with vent holes, a regular pizza pan, rolling it super thin and cooking it so long that the toppings are brown. What I finally came up with is that I roll out the crust and bake it without toppings first and then put the toppings on and cook the whole thing directly on the oven rack. This can lead to problems of their own but it works as long as we eat right out of the oven, the minute I place it on a hard surface to cut it the steam will make the crust soft again!!! AAuuuggghhhh!!

    I was noticing that your recipe called for honey which probably adds a bit of crunchy-ness to the crust…so my question is: is your crust crunchy? And what do you bake your pizza on?

  3. Been meaning to get to this and just haven’t. I think I will put it on my menu for next week!! Like the new blog, by the way!

  4. LM – That’s so fun. I do think when you involve your kids in cooking, they are more apt to eat whatever it is (veggies and all!) Hey, whatever happened to your cooking class?

    K – So far, I haven’t had that problem. It might help to pre-cook veggies so they don’t release all of their water onto your pizza. OR try doing a light egg wash on the crust when you pre-bake it. It works for pies in preventing soggy pie crust.

    MEH – Oh, you so need to try it. It’s well worth the additional bit of time, and it’s really very easy. But be forewarned, once you start, you won’t want to go back!

  5. You amaze me!! I can barely post weekly on 1 blog, much less start a whole new blog with a 6-day posting schedule. I think you must have an “S” on your chest, Superwoman!

  6. A – You’re too funny. There’s definitely no “S” here. A lack of sleep, yes. But no “S.”

  7. Trying your recipe out tonight for movie and pizza night! So excited!

  8. K – How did it turn out?

  9. I have been meaning to find a pizza dough recipe – our family loves to make home-made pizza but I’ve been buying those expensive Boboli crusts for it. So far the only mention I’d found of a recipe was for a bread machine, and unfortunately I don’t have one any more. I’m so glad I found this here – can’t wait to try it out! THANKS!

  10. M – Glad you found it. If you need me to send you instructions for making the dough by hand, please let me know.

  11. I would love to have the handmade recipe when you have a moment – that would be WAY easier than trying to muddle my way through it by, uh, hand. 😉 I appreciate the offer. I was so excited to see this was something that could be made by hand, not just the machine.

    If’n I win the Lotto, you can bet a bread machine’s on the list. *chuckle*


Leave a Reply

Categories

