Posted by: spaghettipie | September 19, 2007

WFMW: Meal Planning

I know meal planning isn’t anything new, but it sure does work for me.

Basically, every Sunday evening I sit down and write out the days of the week on a sheet of paper. I then fill in all of the evening meals, including main dish and sides. I make sure to plan in a couple days to either eat leftovers or to remain open so we can still be flexible to eat with friends or go out to eat. I only plan one week in advance because I know what our schedule will be for the evenings. Then I can be sure to plan meals that don’t require much preparation on busy nights and more detailed recipes on nights we are staying home. Previously, I have even scheduled out my breakfast, lunch and snacks, in order to help me stick to a healthy diet. I stopped because it became to tedious to do each week.

After I have my meal plan, I make my grocery list. That way I only buy what I need.

Anyway, not terribly profound, but it has helped me tremendously to take the stress out of making dinner each night.

Check out other tips on Works for Me Wednesday, at Rocks in my Dryer.

Responses

  1. I’m with you, sister! Menu planning saves me tons of time and money–only have to go to the store once per week! I always plan 2 extra meals in case any of my fantastic dinner ideas are met with resistance 🙂 If spaghetti doesn’t sound good to anyone, I can whip up something else without giving in to the cries of “Pizza!”

  2. SAHMmy – I’m so glad you stopped by. Planning meals makes all the difference between stressful dinners and not. I like your idea of coming up with a couple extra options!

  3. This is an area in which I thoroughly fail and struggle all the time. Thanks for instructions and encouragment to get started. This week I asked my oldest to just make me alist of meals. We’ve pretty much been eating from his menu with just a few adjustments. I guess I just need some inspiration. Ha!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Duckabush Blog

  4. Kathy – Sounds like you’ve got a great new approach by getting your kids involved. Maybe even try just planning a few of your meals in advance, rather than the entire week. Start small and see how it goes!

  5. This is an awesome tip! You should share your menus at :

    http://orgjunkie.blogspot.com/index.html

    She does a Menu-Plan-Monday link each Monday. It’s also a great place to get new ideas!

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I forgot to add my own link!

    It’s a new blog, but I already have a recipe or two in there.

    http://xboxwife.blogspot.com/

  7. X – Love your thoughts, and based upon your recommendation I’m switching my posting schedule in order to participate in MPM. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. […] Meal Planning […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

