Posted by: spaghettipie | June 2, 2008

Lessons from Never Say Diet

I’ve been reading Chantal Hobbs’ book, Never Say Diet as a part of my mental shift about eating. While I appreciate her straight-forward approach and her intolerance of the typical excuses we bring, her approach and tone will not work for everybody. I do like that she continues to remind readers that the plan she outlines must be tailored to fit your lifestyle and your preferences. She gives a solid framework, but the reader must fill in the details. This flexibility makes the program less overwhelming and much more likely to effect real change.

For me, I’ve really been impacted by the following points.
1) Mental change must come first, otherwise you will not make a lifestyle change. In my personal evaluation of what needed to change, I finally came to this realization. I appreciated the affirmation of this point. If I don’t change my mindset first, then the surface-level behavior changes are not going to stick.

2) Stop making excuses. See it as important as a full-time job. Chantal leaves no room for excuses – even ones that would gain the support of anyone (like busy schedules, pregnancy/a new baby, or even an ill family member). You are allowed to make no excuses. Period. For me, I need that type of kick in the pants.

3) It’s okay to feel a little hungry. Chantal points out that our natural instinct is to eat until we are full (or stuffed!) because our body is programmed to protect itself against starvation. Just because you feel a little hungry shortly after a well-balanced, well-portioned meal does not mean you should eat. Drink a glass of water and push yourself to wait until the next meal. Chantal teaches that it is NOT okay to skip meals. But you don’t need to fill yourself to the maximum at every meal. You will eat again. Remember, to lose weight, you have to burn more calories than you put in. This was a great reminder to me that I do not need to always satisfy the desires of my flesh immediately. I am no longer a slave to my flesh!

If you are tired of dieting and are looking to make some real changes in your lifestyle, this might be a book for you to check out. Just remember to take it with a grain of salt, and implement a plan that is tailored to you.


Responses

  1. I’m still reading Chantal’s book and it has really helped me so far. I think the most valuable thing right now is the idea of not worrying about what I’m eating yet or exactly how many calories I’m burning. My first objective is to exercise at least 30 minutes 5 days a week to learn discipline. That was always the missing key for me. I’d make an elaborate plan for myself regarding eating/exercising, only to aspire too high, which then left me unsuccessful. I am on my second week of exercising daily and am proud of my small accomplishments. I also like that she points out that at the end of the 30 days, we’ve already invested too much to quit.


Leave a comment

Categories